Guerrilla Approach Carbine Marksmanship

victran

Amateur
20160529 Winchester Canyon Gun Club - Santa Barbra, CA 0830-1730

Instructor: Aaron Burraga, 8 year veteran of 1st Special Forces Group. Communications Sergeant (18E)

Introduction: I've been shooting AR15s for about 5 years. Have yet to take carbine training as serious as pistol skills and craft. Very well versed in weapons manipulation, malfunction clearances, overall functionality, and knowledgeable in how the platform functions. Average time spent behind the carbine is about 3-6 times a year to check zero and stow the carbine away. The lack of actual carbine training that fit my schedule this year was severely lacking, Aaron was offering this course at a discount so I called up a bud down in the area and told him to join me.

Prelude: drove 4 hours to Santa Barbra, checked in at my AirBnB room rental and checked weapons.

Begin class: Drove out to Winchester Canyon Gun Club and arrived at 0815. Set carbine, ammo and gear on the benches and awaited Aaron to collect our waivers.

Class size was about 24 students to one instructor with 2 RSO's. The experience level of the class ranged from new novice shooters to advanced experienced shooters. At least one active LE and multiple military veterans.

Introduction of students followed by safety rules and medical evacuation plan layout. Aaron did not talk much about his background but talked more on how the class is structured and his approach to teaching the class. Crawl-Walk-Run. He wanted the students to embrace an understanding of the fundamentals of shooting, no gimmicks or crazy dynamic stuff as he described as "the norm of the industry." Definitely respect someone who dives straight into business than personal fulfillment.