LUMIMOD

Vendor
Hello everyone, I'm Kevin, co-owner of LumiMod (Luminous Modifications). Many of you may be familiar with us from the PS IG page. We make and sell glow markers that passively charge and provide immediate identification for gear in failing and low light conditions.

My background is in military law enforcement and nuclear security and one of the things that always frustrated me was searching for a bag, pouch, or piece of kit I needed in the dark. The vast majority of my time was spent in an environment where light discipline was not a major concern, but cabin lights are rarely bright enough and flashlights took away a free hand I usually needed to get at whatever I wanted. That's what our glow markers do, make it easy to find the things you need.

PXL_20210424_004033565.NIGHT.jpg
I started making these glow markers in my garage about a year ago. They are made of a highly luminous crystal suspended in a crystal clear epoxy resin. This is not the glow toy of your childhood. These glow much brighter and much much longer. After less than a minute exposure to UV light the strontium aluminate glows for over 10 hours. The glow subsides over time so the illumination it gives off will depend on ambient light conditions. This is to be expected because our eyes adjust based on ambient light conditions. In photopic or daylight conditions the cones in our eyes have adjusted so that to us, only light sources brighter than our environment will appear to glow. Thus our eyes do not perceive the luminescence of our glow markers.

A side note: if you are outside and expose the glow marker to the sun, then step into an artificially lit building, the glow marker will be at its peak brightness and will appear to glow in a bright room. The peak glow subsides quickly and the luminescence passes below our perception level.