Langdon Tactical Pistol Skills SLC, Ut. August 2016

N

nate89

Tactical Pistol Skills

August 11th and 12th, 2016

Salt Lake City, Utah

I heard about Earnest Langdon through pistol-training.com, and through his material online about DA/SA or TDA pistols. I have been shooting p series sigs for a couple years now, and figured if Earnest Langdon was coming to teach less than two hours from where I live, I could not miss the chance to be there. He was hosted by my friend Tom Nielson of PARA-Training and, as a side note, will probably be hosting Earnest again next year, for all who are interested.

Weather for both days was very good, cooler than it could have been in August. In the late afternoons, the wind would pick up (the range is up a canyon) which caused some minor inconvenience with targets. Overall nothing weather-wise was a barrier to the class running smoothly.

Class was to begin at 8:30 Friday morning, but there were late-comers that pushed the start back about 20 minutes. Not a huge deal, but a good reminder for any class: know when you need to be there, know how to get there, know how long it will take to get there, and know what equipment you need.

Equipment-wise this class was fairly unique in my experience. Earnest and one other student were shooting PX4s, there were two M&Ps, three CZs, two 1911s (a Kimber Warrior and a Sig Scorpion), two p-series sigs (226 and a 229), and an HK P30 LEM. Most shot from a variety of strong-side holsters open, myself and one or two other students were carrying appendix and concealed, another had his IDPA vest, and one student is LEO in the Salt Lake area, and used a duty rig. Earnest shot his px4 from appendix. I did not see many equipment related problems, but I did see some malfunctions from the Sig 1911 (looked to be magazine related). I also had two failures to extract, one within the first 50 rounds of day one, and one at the end of day two.