Favorite Rifle Drills

Zach

I'm wondering what all your favorite rifle drills are that you use to stay sharp in between training events. As a scrounging college student, I'd also like to see what some of your lower round count drills are.

High round count, low round count, sidearm transitions, whatever. I wanna see'em. If they involve a shot timer, even better.

Grayman

Established
One of my favorites is the reload drill. Works for rifle and pistol, low round count and doesn't take long to setup.

Start with as many mags as you've got and load each of them one round. Have a partner stand by with some loose ammo and a stopwatch.

Set the stopwatch for 1 minute and begin. Do as many reloads as you can within that minute having your partner load empty mags as you drop them. Once you run out of the mags on your person drop to a knee and begin grabbing mags off the ground.

Realistically you will need at least 5 mags or this will become an exercise in futility as you wait for your partner to catch up....

CAUTION!!!

Make sure your partner is very aware of their surroundings and does not at anytime move in front of your muzzle. This is not a drill for someone with less than exceptional situational awareness and safety mindset!

Here's a couple documents that contain a ton of drills for both rifle and/or handguns. Some are various qualifications, some individual drills that work specific skills.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B24LvkvOQ-1kM1gtMFBPQldrcHM/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B24LvkvOQ-1kOFJJTEtubkhDdUE/view?usp=sharing

Drills that I regularly run that stand out as particularly awesome include Vicker's 3-6-9 Drill, Modified Navy Qual, Proctor's Soul Crusher, 10-8 pistol test, Falla's Lucky 7's, the Rock Star Drill and Bill Wilson's 5x5 Skill Test.