Attaching a light to a railed gas block? Too hot?

LigerNoir

Amateur
P/S,

I was wondering if it would be doable to attach a weapon light (such as a surefire scout light, x300, or xc-1) to the 12 o'clock of a railed gas block (PRI/YHM as examples) or if the heat generated would be too much for the lights.

Additionally, how much heat is transferred to a barrel mounted option such as the Canadian system for their C7s and C8s.

Thank you!

jBravo3

Definitely not an optimal set-up of course - IMO. An X300B or scout would survive, but I don't think it's a good idea to cook batteries no matter what - whether or not they're wrapped in polymer or aluminum. How long the lights/batteries survive would depend on a lot, but it's just not an optimal, professional, viable option - again, in my opinion.

If possible, it'd be much better just to put on a low profile block and free float over the top.

I have no experience with C7/C8 so can't chime in there.

shoobe01

Established
No science behind it, but before I went to an actual floated railed handguard — long ago — I had one of those FSB bolt on mounts, and put lights on it. Got into plenty of "fights" (blank fire mostly, FOF) where the gun got plenty hot, and it presented no issues I noticed with the light mounted.

(Note I DID get failures from other items at the same timeframe. For example I did this solution because I had tried one of the plastic rails bolted through the vents on a normal AR handguard and the plastic rail was soft enough that when I got tangled in some brambles the light popped off.)

I am sure a rail directly on the gas block would be hotter, but if you don't rapid fire too much it might not be a disaster.

I have other thoughts but... it would be first good to know why you are doing this as well. Is it an issue gun so you can't change it more? Will the light be allowed there also, what other things can be bolted on, etc?

shoobe01

Established