Your thoughts on carrying a "chest dart"...

Matt Babika

CLEER Medical
http://handguncombatives.blogspot.com/2015/04/chest-decompression-needles-vital-kit.html?m=1
Handgun Combatives

Monday, April 27, 2015

As will be the case in this often trend driven industry, yet another tactical talisman has entered the must have lists of many a preparedness minded individual. You’ve all seen them, or bought them, yet very few have any legitimate training or authority to even posses them. We are talking about the chest decompression needle. It must finally be said, please STOP; you know not what you do.

I have been an instructor in most disciplines of Fire, EMS, and Technical Rescue operations for several years now, operating on the streets for 17 years. Like most in my service, I have responded to thousands of calls that include pretty much any insult to the human form an individual could imagine. But guess what, I’ve seen more double rainbows in my life than I’ve even heard of pre-hospital tension pneumothorax decompressions.

You might be interested to know that ER physicians have an approximately 68% success rate of successfully detecting tension pneumothorax within the controlled environment of an emergency room. Yet thousands of people believe they can pull it off with no training in the uncontrolled environment of a trauma scene. There are also a great number of false positives that end up “darted” that complicate patient condition greatly. This procedure is an extraordinarily rare need and NOT a “ground ball” to perform.