YHM Turbo, any good?

The price on the YHM Turbo makes it hard to resist. Short, light and said to be durable. I want something for my 11.5 BCM and a 12.5 I am putting together. I am new to suppressors , this would be my first. Any reason this would be a "poor" decision?

Shwa

The Turbo is my first and only 5.56 can so know that I don’t have nearly the experience as some others on here. I tagged your post waiting for some replies and since no one has yet ill throw out my 2 cents. The weight/size/price is what attracted me to it. It has higher back-pressure than other 5.56 cans. If you’re already over-gassed it could exacerbate the issue more so than a different 5.56 can but you’ll have to talk to other guys about that.

I really like the mounting options. Again, I don’t have experience with others but the mounts are less expensive than other options and I have had 0 issues with it. Quick and secure. I have taken the can on and off a boatload of times, never had carbon lock.

I am running it on a Faxon 11.5 Big gunner which has a huge gas port. I needed an adjustable gas block to tame that setup. If your barrel is gassed properly you shouldn’t have too much issue.

I really like it, I am considering another, or even the Turbo K which was announced at SHOT.

YHM has great customer support. Could you do better? Yeah but you will likely pay more.

Sunshine_Shooter

Established
Ditto @Shwa, the Turbo is my first silencer purchase as well.

It is lighter than I thought it would be. I don't really consider the mount's weight, since it weighs about the same as the brake it replaced.

It rings my shooting side ear when fired w/o ear pro. I expected the can to be a little on the loud side. My rifle is a 16" carbine-system (and probably overgassed) 5.56 so I'm not really surprised. I am replacing that barrel soon, so I'm not really worried about it.