What round count determines reliability?

This is prompted by a discussion I saw on Instagram today.

What round count determines reliability? If I have a PSA/DPMS/Bushmaster rifle on which the basics (gas key and castle nut staking, headspace, gas block, etc.) have been checked and I run 1k rounds thru it in 3 months thru a combination of practice and 3 gun(not out of the question for a casual 3 gunner), is it a reliable rifle? Is it trustworthy? Admittedly it's not the same quality as a Colt/BCM/Noveske/Hodge, etc., but is it reliable?

I'm not trying to make a case that an entry level gun is "just as good as" but I've also seen a lot of derogatory stuff posted about "it works for me", but what if it actually does run AND it cost less than $700? What then?

Matt Landfair

Matt Six Actual
Staff member
Administrator
It isnt so much a specific round count as it is the odds of running into issues due to poor qa/qc. It is entirely unpredictable. That's why there is more emphasis on quality weapons because you are paying more for actual qa/qc and things being done right.

Mike_IA

So that leads to another question: with TDP in the public now, if you inspect and fit parts to TDP or better QC standards where does that place things?

RallyMech

Amateur
This is prompted by a discussion I saw on Instagram today.

What round count determines reliability? If I have a PSA/DPMS/Bushmaster rifle on which the basics (gas key and castle nut staking, headspace, gas block, etc.) have been checked and I run 1k rounds thru it in 3 months thru a combination of practice and 3 gun(not out of the question for a casual 3 gunner), is it a reliable rifle? Is it trustworthy? Admittedly it's not the same quality as a Colt/BCM/Noveske/Hodge, etc., but is it reliable?

I'm not trying to make a case that an entry level gun is "just as good as" but I've also seen a lot of derogatory stuff posted about "it works for me", but what if it actually does run AND it cost less than $700? What then?