What do I look for in a used gauge?

Bill Assande

Amateur
Despite growing up with my dad hunting with a shotgun, I have little to no experience with them and all of that was "unpleasant". However I understand their utility and plan on embracing "the gauge" in the near future. As much as I'd love a Beretta or similar semi auto for the sake of my limited finances I've been haunting a local police supply gun shop in my area that usually has a metric ton of pump actions in the sub $350 range. What are some things I should be looking for or to avoid while looking through the trade-in rack? What are some basic upgrades I should plan on budgeting for?

Thank you all in advance.

Runcibleman

Coming as a recent shotgun adopter, I'd say save up. Seriously, just save up. Don't bother with a pump, you'll end up sinking a lot of money into it trying to make it better and then end up wishing you just had a good semi-auto. Maybe it'll take a year, so be it. Save up.

Bill Assande

Amateur
Coming as a recent shotgun adopter, I'd say save up. Seriously, just save up. Don't bother with a pump, you'll end up sinking a lot of money into it trying to make it better and then end up wishing you just had a good semi-auto. Maybe it'll take a year, so be it. Save up.
Thanks man, I've got a small fortune of a wish list so it's just a matter of prioritizing.

Sent from my SM-G930U using Tapatalk

Runcibleman

Thanks man, I've got a small fortune of a wish list so it's just a matter of prioritizing.

Ditto, man, ditto. But as the old timers here say: "Don't be poor". So, I'm taking care of family first, buying ammo and training time second, and gear third. All the gear in world will still just make you a queer with gear. And I want to be a real boy some day, so that's the priorities (i.e. "not being poor"). Until I understood what that meant, I was stupid, but now I get it, and I don't care if I don't have the Gucci stuff. I'd rather be the guy who passes the Steve Fisher quals.

JimH