Vehicle based Gunfighting

Bourneshooter

Blue Line Sheepdog
Cross over from the BookFace page:

We have several SME's on vehicle based gunfighting here.

Vehicle based gunfighting. Guns, ammo, how to shoot, etc.

No SME, but I would contend that this is the LEAST trained area for LEO's considering that they spend the majority of their time in and around vehicles. I worked as a COP for 8 years before I finally got to shoot into and out of auto glass, and that was at a Graham Combat rifle/pistol course I paid for myself. A massive eye opener for me. I try to integrate some work around vehicles into the department firearms classes I teach.

WayneF

After being read into and tracking the details of every OIS in my state over the last decade, it is painfully obvious that this is a skill set that needs to be trained to.

Not just bailing out of cars or running "highspeed" drills. Simply a demonstration of things such as how rounds perform when striking an intermediate barrier. After a couple years of running vehicle based classes, we hear at least one LE or .mil guy upset that he had worked 5-10-15 years without this kind of training.

Over the past few years we have seen a number of cases of suspects using vehicles as a weapon against officers, going for guns while inside of cars, and one sheriff ambushed and killed in his car while eating lunch. Not one of the officers I spoke to after the shooter had any idea what was going to happen when his rounds impacted body panels or glass. The folks picking out ammo also do not tend to look at these topics and instead focus on limited penetration due to liability concerns of over penetration.

Detmongo

Amateur
Hey guys if you want you can look up Will Petty and Steve Fisher. They have a great course relateing to this very subject. My team had them come to NY a few weeks ago and we learned a ton of stuff form that class that we are already teaching our guys.

Curt

Amateur