Switching to Revolvers for 2019

TexasPrac

Amateur
Really digging this thread. I hope you keep it going @TexasPrac

Thanks, trying to. Life and responsibilities continually gets in the way, but I'm hoping to keep it going. Speaking of learning stuff though, I posted this in the podcast section of this website after listening to Ep 197 of the P&S Podcast on Snubbies, thought I would repost here for anyone following this thread:

Enjoyed this episode, since I'm spending a year shooting mostly wheel guns. I also signed up for the Pat Rogers Memorial wheel gun class in Dallas this October, and I'm looking forward to that.

As a disclaimer: I'm not a cop, not a high speed guy, not even a world class shooter. I'm not trying to say I'm an expert or even know what the heck I'm doing. But the comments about how you shouldn't use a thumbs forward grip on wheel guns jumped out at me. I'm a younger guy who came up shooting semi autos. I started shooting wheel guns in competitions this year with a traditional revolver crossed thumbs grip, before transitioning to shooting thumbs forward because I thought it was giving me better control of the gun during follow up and faster splits.

So I set out to test my "feelings" vs the comments of Darryl Bolke in favor of the traditional revolver grip. What I found surprised me, and I thought it was worth sharing to see what others thought or whether my experience was unique on this front.