Sun Safety for Shooters

As a Dermatologist and skin cancer expert, I often cringe when I attend classes. The discomfort stems from observing too many sunburns and knowing what that portends in the future. I have been practicing dermatology for 21 years and treat skin cancers daily. The wounds they cause can be devastating, disfiguring, and occasionally fatal. One in five Americans will develop skin cancer by the age of 70. The month of May is skin cancer awareness month so for my shooting colleagues, here is what you need to know. This is informational only and knowledge is power. If you have a personal situation, then I will not be able to comment on it without seeing you as a patient.

There are three main types of skin cancer: basal cell cancer (BCC), squamous cell cancer (SCC) and malignant melanoma (MM). All cancers are malignant. Malignant = bad. All skin cancers destroy normal tissue. Untreated, they eventually form wounds that fail to heal, bleed, crust, and grow. Nerves, muscles, and even bone can be destroyed by the physical extension of the skin cancer. I have treated patients with their noses, lips, eyelids, and ears eaten away by skin cancers. Besides destroying local tissue, skin cancers may also spread inside the body to lymph nodes and beyond. This gets serious and patients may die from internal spread. Of the three skin cancers above, SCC and especially MM can spread internally.

The sun has three main rays: UVA, UVB, and UVC (UV = ultraviolet). UVC is extremely dangerous but is blocked by the ozone layer from reaching Earth. Both UVA and UVB reach our surface but at different levels and cause different biologic effects.