Springfield XD Problems

Gents,

Just to clear the air, at risk of having folks repeat themselves, can we go over the specific issues with Springfield's XD?

My reasoning is the cluttered opinions may not be easily accessible and I have a couple detailed questions below.

1. What specific models/calibers have these issues been identified with?

2. What specific issues have occur and in what settings?

3. Are these issues noted in the XDm, Mod2, and/or XDs series of pistols?

I know...newbie bringing up Springfield XD...but I've seen some of the issues explained over a number of different places and think it might be helpful to focus them here. I'm sure they've been noted enough to where it shouldn't be too hard for instructors/trainers to throw a quick blurb in.

David Mayeur

Capture.PNG
18581679_1314002368653014_2066292913584228308_n.jpg

Chriscanbreach

Established
I have zero experience with the XD line beyond a couple magazines and I can’t recall being impressed. I am curious if the info is still current. Have there been improvements?
Are those that carry them on duty experiencing the same failures, and if so why would you carry it beyond department mandate.
I ask, because I have no idea and am looking to expand options for our officers. XD is not currently on the list.
Every weapon has anecdotal tales of the time it went down for my buddies cousins neighbor and how it can never be relied on.
There are also documented cases like the postings from Sage Dynamics that should be digested with a little less suspicion although we never really know the whole story of the particular gun.
Multiple documented failures are important to keep track of in the right context. For example Some dude shooting hot ass hand loads out of his Glock 19 can be a documented failure. But was it the gun?
I’d like to hear the contrary experience from people who would trust their lives to one.