SBR recommendations

FFDJEFF

This is my first post here. I was told that Primary and Secondary was the place to come for information.
I am in the market for a SBR, 10.5 to 11.5", good quality build. This will be used as a truck gun for defense. I have looked at the Danial Defense MK18 but was told yea it's a good gun but there as good or better for cheaper. Looking for a good weapon not cheap. I may get a thousand recommendations but thats cool, I will have a place to start.

Jeff

Longeye

Established
Defense from what? People? Coyotes? Ground squirrels? All the above?
Are you going to suppress?
I assume 5.56, not .300 BLK.

Given the system that the AR is, what you are really asking is: Whose barrel? Everything else is personal preference. To wit rail, gas block, muzzle device, charge handle, etc.

Go with the usual suspects. BCM, Colt in 11.5" LMT or DD in 10.3". BCM, LMT, LaRue in 12.5".

There are Hodge and Archer, but I have no experience with them. Knowing the principles, I expect they would be solid guns.

I strongly recommend 11.5 over 10.3 or 10.5". And I suggest taking a hard look at 12.5" and 14.5" options.

Or make it easy and get a SCAR CQB 13.

Jeff there is a multitude of companies making amazing guns. But what I would recommend is look at bcm 11.5 or 12.5. I have a bcm kino which ive heard amazing reviews about. Basically a mini dissapator. I have yet to take it out and really test it. Also look at possibly building your own. That way you can put everything you want on it and not pay all the extra for what you dont want.

Matt

Staff member
I would recommend against building your own rifle from parts unless you've had some formal training in that task, especially if it is intended to be used as a defensive rifle. While it is not difficult to assemble some parts and get a rifle that shoots, if you aren't an armorer or gunsmith then you don't know what you don't know. That could lead to unforeseen problems in your rifle down the road.

Longeye