Mike Treat - AI

Date:

February 27, 2021

Locations:

Forest Lake Sportsman Club, Forest Lake, MN

Weather:

Mostly sunny, high of 46 degrees

Equipment:

Ruger 327 Mag LCR, FN 509M with Holosun 507C, PHLster City Special and Classic, Presscheck assault gloves

Student Background:

I’ve been working a gun counter for roughly 4 years, graduated from Pine Tech with a certificate in gunsmithing, and I moonlight as a firearms instructor. I spent 4 years as a USMC armorer. I've attended Steve Fisher’s Handgun Employment and Critical Handgun Employment, Progressive Pistol Craft and Low Light Pistol Fundamentals from Craig Burris of Tactical Training Solutions local to me here in MN, Critical Handgun: Tests and Standards with John Johnston, and Bullets On Vehicles at the Sig Academy.

Preparation:

I had purchased a DeSantis pocket holster to try as a method for keeping a gun in my jacket when my primary gun was less accessible, but just in dryfire I found it to still be an impractical option. It didn't conceal well in any of my coats and my draw, even when staged as perfectly as possible, wouldn't consistently released from the holster on the draw. Beyond that however I did little prep for this class because I honestly wasn't 100% certain what to expect from the course.

Demographics:

There were 10 students in class, all civilians, and most had trained with Erik in the past.

Overview: