PARA expert?

Im a novice is the 1911 realm. Its a stainless model. From what I know it was their base pistol.

Is it a good base gun to have customized later on? Guy claims its brand new.

Other suggestions are appreciated.

To make a long story short, probably not. If its a single stack gun, there are better options, especially if you plan to customize later. If its a double stack para its a big fat NO. There is no 1911 gun smith out there, who is legit, who wants to work on one. Check old episode of the P&S pod casts, some of the best 1911 builders around had a short discussion on why they do not work on para double stacks.

Diz

Hoo boy. I worked there when they were in Charlotte, when they first moved down from Canada. Yeah, for sure, long story short, most Para double stacks are a piece of shit. I could go on for days why that is; maybe just hit the highlights. First off the MIM tech was crap. They had an old high-temp oven, surplus from aerospace, which should have been retired long before they moved. It had huge problems maintaining consistency. We would lose half the parts in some batches. Sometimes the whole batch. What was passed was oftentimes barely in spec. And sometimes out of spec.

Next were the castings themselves. There was lots of inconsistencies there. And some times the machining on our end. Again, the CNC machines were old and needed replacement. But they weren't always rejected either.

The work force was brand new and had to be trained from scratch. Huge learning curve here. Because of 1 and 2 above, the old crew in Canada essentially had to hand-build each gun, with extensive file-fitting to get the guns to work. When they moved down here, this was all uncovered, by us, and a big us-vs-them battle ensued.