Optic mount hight

What are some of the pros and cons to the different mount hights with LPVOs. 1.5, 1.9 2,03 ect, assuming your not trying to clear a DBAL or something. Seems to me that taller mounts would be better for shooting close and fast but could be problematic in the prone. I have no real experience with LPVOs so I’m completely speculating.

pointblank4445

Established
Let me note that I'm a sniper(LE) first and foremost so my priorities may not align with that of others. Because I didn't find the 1.93 height was ideal for my setup, I didn't spend as much time with it as I would need to make that direct comparison. If you count HK 416's which have a higher rail and sit optics up about 1/3? of an inch...leaving optics 1.87ish inches high when using a 1.54" mount then I noted no difficulty with that.

The only time I have had issues with "imperfect" positions related to optic height is when using the 1.375" and not being able to get behind the optic when used in conjunction with my preferred SOPMOD stock. In some cases height-over bore could afford you a little more difficulty with some VTAC wall openings and loopholes...but nothing that I've encountered yet in the real world. You always have mechanical offset to contend with.