Mk5 and NX8 debacle with a question on main tune diameter in regards to adjustment range.

Trying to decide between Leupold mk5 3.6-18 with the CCH reticle and the Night Force nx8 2.5-20 with the milxt reticle.
Currently have the leupold vx3 lrp with the cch reticle and I love it. Has ridden on my 16in spr, 16in 6.5 grendel and even a 12in ar for grouping purposes. Been eyeing these 2 new scopes as a possibility for awhile but after shooting a prs style comp a few weeks ago the possibility turned into a definite. I was initially drawn to the leupold with the 35mm tube for the greater adjustment range (listed at 29.1 miles by leupold) because the grendel starts to fall off pretty quick past 750 for me. I then discovered that the NF with a 30mm main tube has 32mils of adjustment. So more adjustment with smaller main tube diameter is a bit interesting. What am I missing there? I'm no expert by any means so I'm genuinely curious. I like the magnification range of the night force but I've been shooting the cch reticle for over a year now so I'm already familiar with it. Any thoughts or info that could steer me in the right direction would be appreciated greatly.
The intended use of the optic will be to ride on my grendel to do prs comps and long range shooting. I'm going to buy the optic first (thanks to the intro to precision podcast) then save for the bolt gun that I'll eventually use for the prs comps which is what it will ultimately live on.

oda175

Yes- a larger tube will to an extent allow for a bigger adjustment range. Simpler more room to move the erector set within the bell/tube. But that is dependent on manufacturers- and how they design the inner workings. And no scope is dead on- sometimes its off of spec a few 0.1 mils. Difference for you shooting a PRS match. Nothing.... Heres the why: