Light/ Laser setup.

Hayden

Hey all. Im in need of some advice. Just got done building a SOLGW/FCD 12.5. Its not my first build but it is my first build that is not geared toward shooting small critters at distance.

Im looking at lights and lasers and boy is this a rabbit hole. Im just not sure what to pick. Im looking at Surefire, Modlite and Arisaka set ups but when you start picking light heads, tail caps, buttons etc it becomes overwhelming. All of this is just expensive enough to not want to do it twice.
Laser: At this time, I dont run NV so a decent Visible Laser is all Im looking for. Sure a MAWL would be neat but the Price.....woooof.

So what did you pick for these 2 things and why.

Hayden.

PS. I will admit I have a CD OWL. I run it on a 10.5" 300 Blk that sits on the Headboard of the bed. Although I do Like it, you never see anyone running these. There's got to be a reason why.

Default.mp3

Established
I am not aware of any good long gun vis-only lasers. Switchology to engage the laser in conjunction with any white light will probably be difficult, too, unless you use some kind of combo unit like the Streamlight HL-X, but the combo units tend to be a bit behind in the light department (and the vast majority are pistol oriented). As much as I love visible lasers (I won't carry a handgun without one if I can help it), I don't use have any visible-only units on my long guns simply because there are no real good options outside of the various MFALs.

If this is your first time, I would suggest a Modlite, as they have better aftermarket support and thus you have more ability to experiment. You're almost certainly not going to nail your preferred WML set-up the first time, because the optimal way is dependant on your shooting style, your techniques, and your lighting needs. That being said, a CD REIN would also come with most everything you'd need to experiment.

The OWL works fine, it's just too niche with its mounting.