John Valentine/ Deeds of Arms Defensive Pistol Combatives, June 18 2022, Wallis, TX

skeletor

Class Title: Defensive Pistol Combatives

Instructor: John Valentine

Location/Date: Wallis-Orchard Gun Range, Wallis, TX, June 18,2022. Wallis Orchard is an outdoor gun range that has nearly a dozen bays for action shooting and hosts weekly USPSA/Steel Challenge matches. I’ve been coming here for about 4-5 years now and Doc is spending good money to expand the facilities. There are restrooms near the range entrance and porta-potties deeper in. Fast food is over 15 minutes away- I recommend bringing all the water and food you’ll need. The class was set up by Craig of Templar Defense, who also attended as student, but helped set up the target stands and occasionally worked the line for safety. Of note: weather was exceptionally hot and humid. The majority of the day was well in excess of 95 degrees, with high Texas humidity, very little if any wind or cloud coverage. One individual voluntarily dropped early due to heat issues. I am grateful to Alex of the Suited Shootist for passing out electrolyte mix like candy, Craig for offering water, John for keeping a very sharp eye on his students, and our two LEOs who acted as medical responders to the aforementioned individual.