I Want to Start Reloading

Chris Taylor

Random Factor of the K Power
What do y'all recommend for someone interested in getting into reloading? What presses, dies, ancillary equipment (like trimmers and tumblers) have you had success with? What brands should be avoided?

Where does someone go after they've been doing it a while? What upgrades are beneficial, which are snake oil? What brands should we be looking at? What should we avoid?

No, not for me personally. I've been reloading professionally for the best part of a decade, have had professional (school) classes on reloading, and was self-taught several years before that. And I'm still learning.

However, I get asked a lot about reloading (a lot), and specifically "how do I get into reloading?" A lot.

I know there are folks here with Canadian frak-tonnes of experience.

Discuss.

Last edited:
I started reloading when I first got into competitive shooting back around 1999. I so wish I would have listened to all the guys and gals back then and bought once and cried once with the Dillion line ups!

I though when I first got started that I did not need to load a lot only pistol and just a few rounds here and there so I bought just a Rock chucker. While this is a great press and it did allow me learn a lot it's was just a gateway drug!!!!!! I needed more and I needed faster!!!!

Once again I did not listen to my friends because I knew more than them an went with a Lee 1000. Once again not a bad press but there are a lot of plastic parts that break and ware out quick so I found the money I though I was saving go down the drain.

Then I drank the cool-aid and got my first Dillion 550B. Why did I not listen!!!!!!!! It's rick solid, easy to set up and has the best warranty in the industry. All of this took less than a year. Today I still have the same 550 that is mostly used for 9mm and 223. I have Square Deal B set up just for 45.