Green Ops Defensive Pistol II Class (18-OCT-2020)

erwos

Amateur
Full post at my blog:
https://thehebrewhammer.net/2020/10/19/green-ops-defensive-pistol-class-ii-aar/

Quoted here as per forum rules:
Disclaimers of Sources of Bias: I got a small class discount for AARs I previously wrote. I didn’t ask for it, and I’d still be taking their classes without it. The amount of money in question is trivial to my situation, and thus had trivial impact on this AAR – or so I hope. I’m also an admin on their alumni group, mostly because I whined at them to start it in the first place.
Class Title: Defensive Pistol II Class
Class Description: From the website: This continuation of our Defensive Pistol series includes additional drills, 25-yard qualification course of fire, and live fire malfunction clearance drills. We will begin with a review of the topics and fundamentals of marksmanship from Defensive Pistol I and move into more advanced drills. You will continue to improve your pistol handling skills while reinforcing the fundamentals of marksmanship. Timed drills will help you learn the balance between speed and accuracy.
Cost: $230, with a $35 discount – $195 total. Not a bad cost at all for a full day of training.
Round Count: ~400. The course advertised 450, so they weren’t far off.

Instructors: The course had five instructors. Luke Brooks was the lead instructor. He was very ably supported by Chris Alvarez, Jo’shua Shaw, Brian Christian, and Julian Akistan. “Ace” (real name classified) was an assistant instructor / photographer / gofer. This was a 1:2 instructor student ratio, which is pretty remarkable. The instructors were a mix of civlian and former military; you can see their bios on the Green Ops website. They were a professional crew, and very well organized. I would say that they take you seriously, but they’re humble and funny amongst each other. They also knew how to teach, and did it very well throughout the day.
A rare Ace sighting in the morning.