FPF Training Home Defense Shotgun (11/11/2018)

erwos

Amateur
AAR is on my blog, but quoted below to conform with forum rules:
https://hebrewhammerblog.com/2018/11/12/fpf-training-home-defense-shotgun-class-aar-agr-870-edition/

I’ve been enjoying quite a lot of high quality training this year, but have wanted to see what the other quality instructors in the area have been offering. One thing I’ve never done before is take a shotgun class, so I was very interested in the Home Defense Shotgun class that Tim Chandler and FPF Training offer. Tim has been on the Primary and Secondary podcast, and enjoys an amazing reputation for his courses.

You have heard me drone on and on about Green Ops in previous AARs. FPF Training is one of the other high-end training providers in this area (the third, I think, would be Modern Samurai Project). FPFT has a very wide variety of courses, and hosts a number of guest instructors every year. John Murphy runs FPFT, and he has an amazing local rep. You can see his bio here.

The instructors were Tim Chandler and Sid (whose last name I didn’t get – sorry!). They were assisted by a guy named Matt. Tim did most of the demonstration shooting, but the few times that Sid and Matt got behind the guns, they did some pretty good work, too. From what I can tell, Tim is basically a training junkie gone pro, which is alright in my book if you’re a good trainer – and he is. You can see his bio here. Sid was a cop for 25+ years, and apparently spent some time behind a gun, too. This is an interesting contrast to the military-focused instructors I’m used to in other classes, but it’s not like you’re gonna find military guys who are running-and-gunning with shotguns, either. It’s mostly a civilian weapon.