EOTech question...

Wrench

First time poster, hope im not breaking any rules... looking to get a sight for my Colt 6721, iv been looking at EOTech sights, its use would be for target plinking mainly up to 100 yds, the two im considering are the Model 512 and Model EXPS2, which one would be for me?

JLL2013

I'd go with the Vortex UH-1 over the EOTech. Better design and supposedly better at resisting thermal drift and delamination.

nightchief

Fighter of the Daychief
I've been running an EXPS 2-0 for about 5 months on an SBR.

Good
I've run 1500ish rounds or so in that time frame. The reticle is very fast for acquiring targets. 65 MOA ring is especially useful at close range (under 15 yards) for the offset. Mount has been tight, not come loose during this time. I had to remove the optic on two different occasions and it maintained zero both times. Field of view with a front sight post is good if using the EXPS (1/3 co-witness model). No battery issues, I'm still using the battery I installed after acquiring the sight. I haven't noticed significant thermal drift. I zeroed it in January in Texas when it was cold. Will be interesting to see if there are any issues in the hot Texas summer.

Less than ideal
Having run Aimpoint Micro's exclusively until acquiring the EOTech, the weight of the sight is noticeable, and just one more example of oz=lbs. My damn SBR (w/ light and suppressor) weighs more than my 16" LW rifle! Reticle shuts off after 4 or 8 hours, so not ideal on a "under the bed" defensive weapon.

All of my experience is on a one way range or hunting in Texas.

NC

Mike_IA

Thermal drift has been fixed in newer model EOTECHs (the ones with the “E” logo not the older circle reticle) to the same or less than aimpoint mico T-2s, download a manual and read it.

Also another best practice is to check 0 on your defensive guns twice a year- your ammo is more thermally sensitive than other parts of the system.

nightchief

Fighter of the Daychief