DIY IFAK List

I've seen a few topics regarding what kind of kit, what should be in it, where should I buy it, etc.

So, as this is an area I have some limited experience in, I put together a basic list of what I would start with for an "Immediate Need" IFAK. One of the biggest drawback I have identified with regards to a pre-fabbed kit is that you'll buy an "80 piece" kit, and get 35 band-aids, 10 packets of aspirin, and 5 blister relief packets.

I've built an extended version of this kit to have near my shooting bag, in addition to the Dark Angle Medical DARK I have on my kit. (I call it my OFUK).

Primary Items

(2) CAT Tourniquets
(2) Israeli Battle Dressings/ABDs
(2) QuikClot Combat gauze
(1) Elastic Bandage (Ace Wrap or similar)
(1) pair of Trauma/Utility Shears
(2) Triangular bandages/Cravats

Suggested Items

Medical Tape
Additional Israeli Battle Dressings/ABDs (My OFUK has 4 total)
Bandaids (never hurts to have some knuckle/1" finger bandaids of the fabric variety)
Burn ointment
Permanent Marker

For a basic "Oh Shit" kit, this is what I would consider a damn good start. "Heavier" (read: higher level of training) kits can have additional items: NPA, IV fluids, NCD, etc.

I like to snag whatever pouch/bag works best. I know I'll get a little ribbing for it, but the OFUK I have is in a Condor tear-Away EMT pouch. The advice I give everyone who asks me is to settle on what they will want to carry, and get an idea then of what size pouch/pack they will need.

Please add any suggestions as you see fit.

-Dave

GTF425

IFAKs come in multiple flavors, and I think we tend to lose focus from the word "Individual" when we're packing an IFAK. It should be the minimum equipment needed to provide a lifesaving intervention for the most common life threats you'll encounter. If we're talking tactical, the most common causes of preventable death on the battlefield are:

Uncontrolled extremity hemorrhage
Unprotected airway
Tension pneumothorax