Cross Dominance and Pistol Shooting

spinmove_

I’m right handed and left eye dominant. I’ve been shooting for 6 years total now, but I’ve only really been serious about it for 3 or 4 years now. I’ve been to a couple of training classes, but unfortunately I won’t be to a proper marksmanship fundamentals class until next month (MDFI’s YSINTG). Wanting to shoot with both eyes open and being cross dominant has been something that I’ve struggled with on and off pretty much the entire time I’ve been trying to get better.

For reference I carry a G19.4 with a G17.3 trigger bar and lightly polished stock internals, Dawson Charger FO front/blacked out rear sights, and Striker Control Device.

The most natural feeling presentation for me is putting the pistol underneath my dominant eye and squaring myself to the target. My right arm/hand tends to bring the pistol over to that side of my body. So long as I can maintain proper counter-torque on the pistol with my support hand I’m fine. If not, shots go way left and accuracy goes to hell. This also happens to be pretty fatiguing. This also seems to be the most repeatable.

I’ve also tried presenting under my non-dominant eye and simply closing my dominant eye. This feels like it gives me a more stable two-handed grip that’s more comfortable if I add gripping pressure with both hands. Keeping an eye closed feels weird and distracting.

I’ve also tried presenting under my non-dominant eye and turning my head to bring my dominant eye behind the sights. Grip is more secure and comfortable, but duplicating the presentation with my eye in the same spot gets wonky at speed. Maybe I need more time practicing this slower?

I’m curious to know what generally works for others like me and what I should be going for. I’m just trying to find something that consistently works that doesn’t have me throwing shots way left if I’m not perfect. I absolutely cannot wait for YSINTG.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Fatboy

Established