Cougar Mountain Solutions Low Light Instructor AAR

ZCF

AAR:
Cougar Mountain Solutions (Erick Gelhaus)
Low Light Instructors Class (16 Hours)
Feb 12 & 19, 2021
1300-2000 hours
Private Outdoor Range, Northern California/Sonoma County

"Human Factors, Use of Lights with Handgun and Patrol Rifle, Practical Application, and Decision Making"
Full disclosure, this class was provided free of charge, as Erick was working out a new format for an upcoming contract. I have not met Erik prior to this class, only talked to him online a few times. That said, I have heard many good things prior, from a lot of people I trust.
Class comprised of all current or retired LE, including two firearms instructors/trainers. My background is minimal, 3 years as a Deputy Probation Officer, 2 years of that in the field supervision unit in a relatively strange part of California. Beyond agency trainings, I have not had a “formal” firearms class. I have shot USPSA/IDPA off and on for about 8 years.
152893627_943138892889277_2286573276437648320_n.jpgIMG_7951.JPGIMG_7942.JPG154856269_785482815393034_6535326619123570217_o.jpg
Recommended round count was approximately 400 rounds pistol, 150 rounds carbine. Erick told us off that bat that we would be keeping round count low not only due to the current ammo crunch, but also since we were working the mechanics of light use in a law enforcement context, not learning to shoot. Realistically, we probably shot around 200-250 rounds pistol, and 100 rounds of rifle. Even with the low round county, I felt it was appropriate for the content covered, and the purpose of the class.