Choosing extracurricular opportunities

jaredd624

I posted this on the Facebook page a while ago, but still wasn't coming to a conclusion. I'm a student at the university of Montana. I'm nearing the end of the selection process for two really good opportunities to supplement my education. The first being a spot on the reserve deputy unit for the local sheriffs office. The second being a spot as a resident firefighter for the rural fire department. I've had law enforcement specific career aspirations since I was a child, and regardless of my decision here that remains my end goal.

The reserve deputy position entails training from January 2016 to June 2016 (160 hours min/ 240 available), upon completion I'll be sworn in. At that point only 16 hours of riding per quarter is required. Though, my intention is to set up an internship through the university so all of my time spent will count toward my earning of upper division credit. Which means I will need to ride as the secondary officer for 150 hours per semester to earn 3 credits. I'm allowed to continue the internship for up to 12 credits. I have about 2.5 years left of school. The reserve deputies after training wear the same uniform and equipment as well as possess the same arrest power as the regular deputies. Though serve only as secondary when on patrol.