Athletic Hand Warmers for my kit; suggestions?

Camb453

I live in the Rocky Mountains and have always trained and been out in the mountains in the winter but always have dragged my feet on purchasing a hand warmer pouch. I was doing a night shoot last weekend and realized I finally want to pull the trigger on it. I know there are tactical companies that make the tubular pouches to warm your hands but I think they are probably over priced and have too many tactical attachments and such that I dont want and wont use. I am looking at Football pouches instead but I have no experience with any of them. Does anyone have any insight or experience with hand warmer pouches?

Default.mp3

Established
I use a SORD Stormtrooper, have no other experiences with handwarmers.

Besides football, you can also look at what hunters use, might give you something with more earth tone colors.

I have been told to avoid any of the fuzzy lined ones if possible, e.g., the First-Spear hand warmer that uses a fleece liner. Not only does it attract and retain dirt better, it also does the same thing for snow, which then also melts into water, and is around longer than a smooth lining. IME, I have gotten snow into the handwarmer before, when having to manipulate stuff in snow, it getting onto the glove, and then getting into the handwarmer itself.

Royroy

Amateur
I have the first spear handwarmer. It’s a little pricey but it gives me the options of attaching it to my belt or wearing it like a Fanny pack or clipping it to a plate carrier. It also stuffs into its own pouch that is attached for storage for the 8 months out of the year I don’t need it. It is fleeced line so I would imagine if you you got snow packed in it it would suck. If you just want something for the range and always wear a plate carrier there are some cheaper options like the HRT tactical hand warmer. Do you want something just for flat range night shoots or do you have other needs?

Camb453