Astigmatism and Optics

Low_Speed_Notper8or

Hey everyone, Im rather new here and I'm curious to hear your thoughts.

For the past 5 years since I graduated high school, I have been using as a rifle a Polish Underfolder AK which works great but is sort of slow with the AK iron sights and the recoil of 7.62x39

I want to move to either a 20 inch AR or a AK-74(That could be another thread) and run some kind of optic. However shooting with a friend of mine I found I have some pretty good astigmatism and even with his really nice 2moa Aimpoint I have that "bursting star" effect.

So what instead would be a good alternative? A 1-4x variable scope? Somewhat told me about prismatic sights, are those just 1x powered scopes or something different and does anyone have any experience on this? Something else? TBH if my only options are fixed eyebox scopes I know the more high speed guys might cringe at this but for 100 yards and in honestly I might just run around with the large aperture on a m16a2 carry handle rear sight and add a variable for identifying and shooting things at longer range.

And I guess to really give you guys the full information, I am not a military or LEO guy, this is more just a general purpose rifle to shoot in 2gun or 3 gun, maybe take a course with and to keep in my house in case anything happens to have a modern rifle. Knowing that I want to focus on shooting from close range to the end of a 200-250 battle zero and im probably going to be using either 5.45 ammo or m193 55 grain 556 so I guess take that into account

Low_Speed_Notper8or

Never mind, I actually have shot a Vortex spitfire 1x and its pretty solid at least from shooting it on the range and in a mock 3 gun stage.

Sophie

This is a good topic. I didn't know I had astigmatism until I acquired an Aimpoint and saw the varying red dot configurations of an "S" or little dipper configuration. It took awhile to determine that astigmatism was the root cause, but now, what are the alternatives.