AAR - Tactical Pistol, Tap Rack Tactical, Feb 2-3 2015, WA

K Williams

Short summary: I've known Bill for several years having been a student along side him in classes and also having taught a couple courses for his folks. He has always impressed me as being a solid student of the craft and a consummate professional. I had not been a student of his till now, and I'm kicking myself for not getting into his course(s) earlier. This will not be the last time I train with him.

Class began on time (actually a few minutes early) at Bill's host location which in an indoor 25 yard range in King County WA.
The student base was all LEO's with the exception of myself (I'm a firefighter serving as a medic on a local swat team, prior military, and I have been teaching for LMS Defense for several years). Class size was 10 which worked very well. We partnered up and ran 2 relays for most of the training.

After the intro's, safety briefing, and some discussions on Bill's philosophy on things, we jumped right into a slightly modified version of the common DOT Torture drill. This served as a diagnostic tool for assessing the students on the line as well as a good warmup. Bill passed out clipboards and a performance tracking sheet he developed for recording our score and also to track various data we would collect over the next 2 days. Examples of info would be our times to draw and fire 1 shot at 5 yards with a hit in a 6" circle or box. Repeat 10 times and find the average. We did this for draws, raw reloads, 1 reload 1 drills, split times on multiple round engagements, split times during reloads or malfunctions using different methods of manipulating the slide forward. Purpose of the data sheet was to establish baselines for future training and also to give the student a starting point for developing this into their dry fire training regimen. Most every live fire block of instruction had a corresponding dry fire component that Bill covered as well.