AAR: Modern Samurai Project Red Dot Pistol: Fundamentals Instructor 2-Day Course Carmichaels, PA April 13-14, 2021

DPapale

Amateur
AAR: Modern Samurai Project Red Dot Pistol: Fundamentals Instructor 2-Day Course Carmichaels, PA April 13-14, 2021

I wanted to throw together a quick AAR of Jedi's LE Red Dot Instructor Class. Excuse any grammatical errors, I'm doing this on a tablet. Long Story.

Background: I've been using RDS on a pistol at least part time since about 2014 and full time since about 2018. In that time most of what I came to learn about proper use was discovery learning, internet lore, and relearning after discovering that a lot of internet lore was bullshit through trial and error. I've previously taken the very first iteration of NLEFIA's RDS Instructor course about 2 years ago, which was very helpful on the administrative end of setting up a program, and which featured a fair amount of actual shooting and dealing with potential issues related to the RDS on the shooting end. I can't say anything bad about that course, but I wanted to take a course that really focused on performance shooting with an RDS pistol. I've followed Scott Jedlinski for a while now and briefly bumped into him once prior at an OTOA Conference. Taking this class was on my short list.

Location: The class was hosted by Cumberland Township Police in Carmichaels PA which is about an hour and half south of the Pittsburgh suburb where I live and work. The range belongs to the state Game Commission, had everything we needed and was well maintained. I got a hotel down there to avoid driving home between T1 and T2, but we ended up getting a call out for a barricade near the end of T1 so as soon as class ended I started to head to the call but the incident was resolved before I hit the highway and I ended up staying at the hotel after all.