Cost: $500

Equipment for Class-
S&W M&P 9 w/ TLR-3
Kydex Holster
Issued Army belt
Sig Tac double magazine pouch
S&W and Promag magazines

Round Count- ~850 rounds

I attended Ernest Langdon’s Tactical Pistol Skills course in order to increase my proficiency with handguns and try to prevent the building of bad habits as I am a novice pistol shooter. I rarely carry for work purposes and my primary reason for pistol proficiency is conceal carry and self-defense.

Day 1
The first day started with a brief PowerPoint presentation that covered the objective of the course, as well as the “Langdon Theory of Training.” There were ten students in the class with a pretty varied level of experience and reason for attending. There were about three civilian competition shooters, a father and his two young adult sons, two novice civilian shooters, one LE, and myself (Army / Contractor).

Ernest covered three elements of shooting performance under stress

1. Situational Awareness

2. Combat Mindset

3. Sub-Conscious performance

He covered the awareness color code

1. White – unaware of one’s surroundings

2. Yellow – Some awareness

3. Orange – Possible threat identified

4. Red – Threat identified

He discussed combat mindset briefly (nothing new to me covered here) then went into discussing how training for sub-conscious performance means training muscle memory that can realistically be executed under stress.

In order to train sub-conscious performance there are three levels of training. He had them ordered in stages as first, second, and third but I just naturally saw them as crawl, walk, run.

1. Basic understanding, beginning of building muscle memory

2. Mastery of skill

3. Introduction of stress to confirm memory (examples include competition, force on force)