AAR: DCNC Low light Handgun 1/28/17

Defensive Concepts NC (DCNC) Low Light Handgun

1/28/2017 at Carolina Guns and Gear Training Complex in Franklinville, N.C.

Introduction:

Currently I am a Police Officer in a large department. Prior to that I was in the U.S. Army Infantry for 8 years and served 38 months in the GWOT. I have attended multiple courses in the military, law enforcement, and in the civilian sector. Previously, in the civilian sector I have trained with Vickers, Hackathorn and others; some of which I would rather not admit too. This was my third class with DCNC and my second time through this particular class.

I have finally been able in the not so recent past to get my wife interested in shooting and carrying. This was her first class of this type besides the NC concealed carry course. I doubt that she will write an AAR. However, in short she stated that she had a good time, and learned a lot.

Instructors:

Chris and Steve

Students:

6 males and 1 female (my wife).

Firearms used in class:

Glocks and one M&P

Firearm that I used:

Glock 19 Gen 3 (19k through it prior to class) with Freya Magwell, KKM barrel and comp, - connector, extended magazine release,Hackathorn sights with a TLR-1. I did not have any issues with muzzle flash from the comp affecting my abilities in anyway at night.

Gear that I used:

TR Holsters OWB holster for a G34 and TLR-1 and double magazine pouch. Magazines were a mix of factory G-19/17 and Magpul G-17. I used a streamlight Protac 2L for the class.

Wife’s guns and gear:

My G-17 Gen 4 (5k through it prior to class) that I chopped to a G-19 grip length, - connector, extended magazine release, and Hackathorn sights. The gun was carried in a OWB holster and she used a double mag pouch for ammo carriage. Her magazines were a mix of factory G-19 and Magpul G-19. She also used a streamlight Protac 2L for the class.

Ammo: