AAR: Contextual Handgun: The Armed Parent/Guardian

Here is my AAR for the class

After Action Review
Contextual Handgun: The Armed Parent/Guardian
http://citizensdefenseresearch.com
Cost $450
700 rounds of handgun ammunition
Instructors John Johnston and Melody Lauer

Just a little bit about me to help who ever reads this to have some perspective on my past training and experience. I have about 10 years of experience in Federal Law Enforcement doing a variety of different roles. I am a Firearms Instructor and Defensive Tactics Instructor for my agency. I also seek out training on my own and attend a variety of classes regularly.

The class was held at Crossroads Shooting Sports in Johnston, Iowa.
https://www.crossroadsshooting.com/
A very nice facility.

The class was pretty close to being half and half with men and women with a variety of shooters at different skill levels. Myself and one other person were the only people that had a back ground in Law Enforcement. I was the only person that didn’t have children in the class. Everyone in the class ran appendix carry holsters.

Training Day One
The morning lecture session was spent in the class room going over videos, talking points, and some solid discussion about situations that occur when children are present. I was impressed with the quality of the videos that were presented. John and Melody didn’t just get any video off the internet and say let’s talk about it. You can tell it took some time to find these videos, as they were perfect talking points and plenty of examples that involved violence around children.