13# guide rod spring

JPitts0117

I’m new to this idea and wanted to test it out, but seeing as how all my personal glocks are gen 4 I had to buy an adapter setup. My question is from those who know is during dry fire is the slide supposed to move rearward a little( like say 1/8”) every time I pull trigger? And secondly occasionally when I rack the slide sometimes it doesn’t go fully into battery. I purchased a NDZ performance gen 4 adapter from eBay

Attachments

• 0B57D5E4-2B45-4D08-8072-944F4DC93AFD.png
    0B57D5E4-2B45-4D08-8072-944F4DC93AFD.png
    800.1 KB · Views: 16

Yondering

My question is from those who know is during dry fire is the slide supposed to move rearward a little( like say 1/8”) every time I pull trigger?

No definitely not. That spring is too light, and is not safe to use in live fire. If the slide moves back a little bit during trigger pull, it has a head start on the barrel/slide unlocking process and can result in a blown case or worse.

Use this test for any recoil spring in a glock: With the pistol pointed up, pull the slide back and watch to see if it returns all the way forward with the trigger held to the rear. If it doesn't, the spring is too light. You'll probably see the slide go into battery when you release the trigger; again that spring is too light and is unsafe to use.

chrisp2493

Amateur
I have a gen 4 34, I put the adapter, stainless steel guide rod, and 13 lb spring in. The slide doesn’t move at all during dryfire. When the gun was super dirty or dry, it had an ever so slight hangup if you let the slide slowly forward, it would catch right before it locked in battery. After I cleaned and oiled it, it’s fine. 3k rounds through it on that setup so far in the last few months

JPitts0117