Handgun Employment
Instructor:

Steve Fisher
Date:
February 22 & 23, 2020
Weather:
A lovely temperature at Vortex's indoor pistol bay
Equipment:
FN 509T with a 6 MOA Vortex Viper, Phlster Classic holster, Federal American Eagle 124gr 9mm
Student Background:
I’ve been working a gun counter for roughly 3 years, recently graduated from Pine Tech with a certificate in gunsmithing, farmer when I’m not selling guns. I spent 4 years as a USMC armorer. I've attended Steve Fisher’s Critical Handgun Employment, Progressive Pistolcraft and Low Light Pistol Fundamentals from Craig Burris of Tactical Training Solutions local to me here in MN, Critical Handgun: Tests and Standards with John Johnston, as well as Bullets On Vehicles at the Sig Academy.
Preparation:
I hadn't shot with any real seriousness for about 4 months leading up to the class because I live in Minnesota, the winter is inhospitable, and I despise any weather below 50 degrees. I also was adding a dot on an FN 509T to my stable for the class. I shot the class at Sig with a P320 with a red dot on it, but I didn't have a considerable number of rounds on a dot equipped gun, so I made two range trips before I went to class to ensure a solid 10 yard zero on my dot and to experiment more with a dot at speed.
Demographics:
There were 17 students in class with a make up of a fire fighter, several LEOs, a number of Vortex's employees, and a mixture of civilians.
TD1 Morning: