Introductions Part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All,
Stuck behind enemy lines in Northern Illinois (booooo) but doing my best to keep the dream alive. Volunteer firearms instructor for the Illinois State Rifle Association, USPSA Production shooter and all around Illinoisian double-agent trying to push back at the nonsense around here without getting political.

I'm Alex, out of NE Ohio, 29 years old. PA Gunsmith School graduate, ITT/Exelis armorer in Kuwait(Jan '12-Jan '14) worked on vehicle mounted machineguns mostly. Unfortunately I couldn't find a gun job after that, so now I hold a steering wheel for a living. Been a gun nerd since I had the Internet, my Dad showed me how to shoot, video games and movies showed me how cool guns are.

When the schedules jive, I'd love to get into training and competition. Somehow I've lived right outside Youngstown my whole life and didn't know about the Alliance range, so going there is definitely on my short list.

TommyHerbs

Hi I'm Tommy. Just a civilian enthusiast, never had professional training or any 2A mentor. I'm from the best coast, specifically Oakland, California. Grew up and lived all over the bay area from San Francisco, to San Jose to Oakland.
I come from a die hard anti gun family. At a young age I became enamored by the technology of firearms. As my family tried to push me away &/or condemned my interest of this " taboo" subject, I started to question the values and philosophy of the progressive politics I grew up with. My father is an immigrant from New Zealand, he served in the army there. My mother is a 1st generation America with her family coming from Guatemala. Raised mainly by my mother, after her divorce with my father due to her being a lesbian. So a very lefty progressive matriarchy was my upbringing, and my mother teaching me to "let my freak flag fly" has only hardened my undying belief in the 2nd amendment