Suggestions Please

Freedom Forged

I just ordered a new AR-15. I've only ever used a non-magnified optic, an Aimpoint PRO. I would like to put a magnified red dot type reticle optic on this new rifle. I think the magnification will help me some with my aging eyes. I have no experience with 1-4, 1-6 or 1-8 optics or brands. I'm reading now but I would like some suggestions from the experience you guys have. My budget is only 600-700, is that even doable?

More info: I'm not LE or MIL. Uses will be selfdefense training and practice from 5 yards out to 300 yards.
FF

N

nate89

One thing you want to do is really solidify what features you are looking for. That will go a long way in narrowing down your selections. You want to consider things like quality of the glass, turret style, reticle, daylight bright reticle/reticle style, magnification range, how close the bottom end is to a true 1X, ruggedness, etc. Of course your budget is going to self-select many of the options generally recommended here, like the Razor 1-6

In that price range you might want to look at the Vortex Viper PST gen 2 1-6. They fact that it has a daylight bright center dot is a big deal for me. It is also a 1-6, has decent turrets and glass, and with an msrp of 1k, you should be able to find one either within your 6-700 price range, or close enough that you should go for it anyway.

MisterHelix

The Trijicon Accupoint 1-4 with the German #4 reticle can be had for under $800 if you look for a deal. The fiber optic illumination works well, similar to an Acog. Decent glass, reputable manufacturer, no batteries.

Trijicon does make a battery powered unit (accupower) but I cannot speak to that one.

N

nate89