AAR: Defensive Concepts NC - Carbine SOM 2/19/17

Trigger Time in Carthage N.C.

Introduction:

Currently I am a Police Officer in a large department. Prior to that I was in the U.S. Army Infantry for 8 years and served 38 months in the GWOT. I have attended multiple courses in the military, law enforcement, and in the civilian sector. Previously, in the civilian sector I have trained with Vickers, Hackathorn and others; some of which I would rather not admit too. This was my fourth course with DCNC.

Instructors:

Chris and Steve

Students:

Six total. One high school senior, one college student, one National Parks Federal LEO, at least one prior service .mil and others with a wide range of experience behind the rifle.

Guns, gear and , ammo that I used:

I used my Franken AR, the only AR that I still own that I personally built. It had a little over 4k rounds through it when I started the class. I took one of my BCM Recce rifles as a spare. However, it never came out of the case. I had no gun, gear, ammo, or magazine related issues or failures during the class.

I used PMC Bronze 55gr FMJ for the class. I shot a total of 327rd. I used Mag Pul Pmags for the class.

I wore my Ferro Concepts Slickster PC with Spiritus Systems Micro Fight Chest rig for ammo carriage. This is an efficient, low profile, adaptable, and very comfortable rig. Prior to the class I have been using on duty for patrol rifle deployments for a little less than 2 months, and have used it at my home range on multiple occasions. I have been using it as opposed to my Grey Ghost Minimalist Plate carrier for those two months as a test run. The Slickster is a little slower to get into. However, I feel that it offers more than the Minimalist. The Slickster is cut in such a way that allows more room for the rifle stock. The Minimalist isn’t bad in this regards, but the Slickster is better.

Gear used by other students: