Gun Detection Tech

tuckerj

I would like to know what someone more seasoned in life than I am thinks of this development in technology and its application. Please help me out. Thank you. (cross-posting to facebook as well)

shoobe01

Established
Maybe they are just flagging it because he has his finger on the trigger? :)

I assumed this existed already. It's not "gun detection" it's just machine vision, and you can have it look for all sorts of stuff. You just have to decide you want to, or need to.

Hard for me to come up with broad based uses for this. If they expanded to stuff like gait analysis that could foolproofly detect concealed carry, that would be much more interesting. Maybe useful, but maybe worrying.

I'm not an expert in the field, but have some passing knowledge that might be interesting. This isn't meant to detract from what I think is actually a pretty cool project, but I wanted to put it into some context for those that might not have any background in computer vison or machine learning.